How does Pagely handle core & plugin updates?
Last Updated -
Pagely performs automatic updates of WordPress core and plugins. Our system is uniquely designed to keep thousands of WordPress sites updated, secure, and running smooth like butter. Our upgrade process happens in the background and is a non-event. Core files are updated as new releases come out (see below) and plugins are updated daily.
The WP core will be upgraded to maintain security throughout the service. In the event the WP core files we manage are overwritten, we'll revert that and perform any upgrades as needed.
If you wish to modify/manage the WP core files/directories, that won't be possible on our platform.
Deployment of WP core releases
We do not push major WordPress releases immediately. Major releases are typically feature enhancements whereas minor releases are security and bug related.
Minor Releases are pushed out the same day they are released.
Major releases are typically pushed within a 2-5 week window or at the first minor release the tag.
We delay for a couple reasons: Give plugin and theme authors more time to update their code to work with the new major releases, and it is the nature of software that a major release may have some bugs that are soon corrected in the next minor release.
Can I opt out of WP core upgrades?
While not recommended, VPS customers can place a version hold as a short term fix should there be any site issues. Shared customers do not have the same option.
All plugins within the official WordPress repository will also be updated. If you customize a plugin and do not want it overwritten at the next cycle you need to change the plugin folder and file name, as well as change the plugin name comment header in the plugin file.
Are there rollback options?
We make nightly backups of everything, so we can always rollback if need be. However, 99% of the time the issue would be with an older plugin not compatible with a newer version of WordPress. In these cases we have a handy self-service WhiteScreen Eliminator that allows you to reset your plugin and/or theme back to Pagely defaults. Nothing is deleted, only de-activated.